Naseby: Order of Battle

The battle of Naseby was the decisive battle of the English Civil War. It was fought on 14 June 1645 between the main Royalist army and Parliament's recently-formed New Model Army. It was an overwhelming victory for the Parliamentarians and left the Royalists with no realistic chance of winning the war.

The Royalist Army

Commander-in-chief: King Charles the First
Captain-General: Prince Rupert of the Rhine
Sergeant-Major-General of Foot: Sir Jacob, Lord Astley

Foot: 4,000 to 5,000
Horse: 3,500 to 5,000

Right Wing of Horse: Prince Rupert

First line

Prince Rupert's and Prince Maurice's lifeguards
Prince Rupert's regiment of horse
The Queen's and Prince Maurice's regiment of horse

Second line

The Earl of Northampton's regiment
Sir WIlliam Vaughan's regiment

The right wing horse divisions were supported by 200 musketeers

The Centre: Lord Jacob Astley

Sir Bernard Astley's Tertia of Foot (right)

The Duke of York's regiment (Lt-Col. Theodore Kirton: front line)

Sir Edward Hopton's battalion (front line)
Remnants of the Western Tertia: Col. Appleyard's, Sir B. Astley's, Sir E. Hopton's and Sir J. Paulet's regiments

Sir Richard Page's battalion (second line)
Lord Astley's regiment (?), Sir R. Page's regiment (ex-Pennyman's)

Sir Henry Bard's Tertia of Foot (centre)

Col. Rhys Thomas' battalion (front line)
Sir Henry Bard's regt, Col. W. Murray's regt (ex-Percy's), Queen's regt (Col. R. Thomas)

Col. Radcliffe Gerard's battalion (second line)
Col. R. Bagot's, Col. R. Gerard's, Col. T. Leveson's, Sir J. Owen's and Sir W. Russell's regiments

Sir George Lisle's Tertia of Foot (left)

Sir Theophilus Gilbey's battalion (front line)
Sir T. Gilbey's, Sir George Lisle's, Col. W. St.George's, Col. S. Thelwall's, Sir H. Vaughan's regiments

Col. (Robt.?) Smith's battalion: the Shrewsbury Foot (second line)
Remnants of Col. R.Broughton's, Col. H.Tillier's, Sir F.Hunks's, Col. H.Warren's and Col. R.Gibson's regiments

Three divisions of Horse deployed in the centre

Col. Thomas Howard's brigade

Left Wing of Horse: Sir Marmaduke Langdale

Front line

The Northern Horse: three divisions under Sir Marmaduke Langdale

Second line

The Northern Horse: one division under Sir William Blackiston
Sir Horatio Carey's regiment

The left wing horse divisions were supported by 200 musketeers


The Newark Horse (Col. Anthony Eyre)
The King's lifeguard of foot (Lt-Col. Sir Wm. Leighton)
The King's and Queen's lifeguard of horse (Earl of Lichfield)
Prince Rupert's regiment of foot (the Bluecoats: Lt-Col. John Russell)

The New Model Army

Captain-General: Sir Thomas Fairfax
Lieutenant-General of the Horse: Oliver Cromwell
Commissary-General of Horse: Henry Ireton
Sergeant-Major-General of Foot: Philip Skippon
General of the Ordnance: Richard Deane

Foot: c.7,000
Horse: 5,500-6,000
Dragoons: 1,000
Artillery: 11 field pieces

Right Wing of Horse: Oliver Cromwell

First line

Col. Edward Whalley's regiment
Sir Thomas Fairfax's regiment
Sir Robert Pye's regiment (one division)
Col. Edward Rossiter's regiment (one division)

Second line

Col. Thomas Sheffield's regiment
Sir Robert Pye's regiment (one division)
Col. John Fiennes' regiment (Midland Association: one division)
The Associated Horse (East Anglia: one division: Lt-Col. Gurdon)
Col. Edward Rossiter's regiment (one division)

Third line

Eastern Association Horse (one division)
Col. John Fiennes' regiment (Midland Association: one division)
Col. Edward Rossiter's regiment (one division)
Rossiter's regiment arrived as the battle was about to begin; its two divisions were assigned to the extreme right flank.

The Foot: Philip Skippon

Front Line

Sergeant-Major-General Philip Skippon's regiment
Sir Hardress Waller's regiment
Col. John Pickering's regiment
Col. Edward Montagu's regiment
Sir Thomas Fairfax's regiment
The Forlorn Hope of musketeers

Second Line

Col. Edward Harley's regiment (Lt-Col. Thomas Pride)
Col. Robert Hammond's regiment
Col. Thomas Rainsborough's regiment


Lt-Col. Pride's rearguard

Left Wing of Horse: Henry Ireton

First line

Col. John Butler's regiment
Col. Bartholemew Vermuyden's regiment
Commissary-General Henry Ireton's regiment

Second line

Col. Nathaniel Rich's regiment
Col. Charles Fleetwood's regiment
Eastern Association Horse (one division)

Other Units

Colonel Okey's dragoons lined hedges on the left of the Parliamentarian positon.


C.H. Firth & G. Davies, The Regimental History of Cromwell's Army vol.i (Oxford 1940)

Martin Marix Evans, Naseby 1645 (Osprey 2007)

Stuart Reid, All the King's Armies (Staplehurst 1998)