Edgehill: order of battle

The battle of Edgehill was the first major battle of the English Civil War. It was fought on 23 October 1642 between the Royalist army of King Charles the First and the Parliamentarian army of Robert Devereux, third Earl of Essex. The result was inconclusive.

The Royalist Army

Commander-in-chief: King Charles the First
Lieutenant-General: Patrick Ruthven, Earl of Forth (who replaced the Earl of Lindsey)
General of the Horse: Prince Rupert of the Rhine
Commissary-General of Horse: Henry Wilmot
Sergeant-Major-General of Foot: Sir Jacob Astley
Major-General of Dragoons: Sir Arthur Aston
Master of the Ordnance: Mountjoy Blount, Earl of Newport (nominal)
Lieutenant of the Ordnance: Sir John Heydon

Foot: 10,000
Horse: 2,500 to 2,800
Dragoons: 800 to 1,000
Artillery: 20 field pieces

Right Wing of Horse: Prince Rupert

Front line

Prince Rupert's regiment of horse
Prince of Wales' regiment (nominal, the Prince was not a combatant)
Prince Maurice's regiment
King's lifeguard

Second line

Sir John Byron's regiment

Royalist Foot: Sir Jacob Astley

Charles Gerard's Brigade (front line)

Charles Gerard's regiment (Gerard wounded)
Sir Lewis Dyve's regiment
Sir Ralph Dutton's regiment

Richard Fielding's Brigade (front line)

Richard Fielding's regiment (Fielding taken prisoner)
Sir Thomas Lunsford's regiment (Lunsford taken prisoner)
Richard Bolle's regiment
Sir Edward Fitton's regiment
Sir Edward Stradling's regiment (Stradling taken prisoner)

Henry Wentworth's Brigade (front line)

Sir Gilbert Gerard's regiment
Sir Thomas Salusbury's regiment
Lord Molyneux's regiment

John Belasyse's Brigade (second line)

John Belasyse's regiment
Thomas Blagge's regiment
Sir William Pennyman's regiment

Sir Nicholas Byron's Brigade (second line)

King's lifeguard of foot
Lord-General's regiment
Sir John Beaumont's regiment

Left Wing of Horse: Commissary-General Wilmot

First line

Henry Wilmot's regiment
Lord Grandison's regiment
Earl of Carnarvon's regiment

Second line

Lord Digby's regiment
Sir Thomas Aston's regiment


Gentleman Pensioners and William Legge's firelocks. (The King's lifeguard insisted on joining the attack with Prince Rupert rather than staying in reserve).

The Parliamentarian Army

Captain-General: Robert Devereux, Earl of Essex
General of the Horse: William Russell, Earl of Bedford (nominal)
Lieutenant-General of the Horse: Sir William Balfour
Commissary-General of Horse: Sir James Ramsey
Sergeant-Major-General of Foot: Sir John Merrick (not present at Edgehill)
General of the Ordnance: John Mordaunt, Earl of Peterborough (nominal)
Lieutenant-General of the Ordnance: Philbert Emmanuel Du Bois

Foot: 9,000 to 10,000
Horse: 2,000 to 2,300
Dragoons: 700
Artillery: 16 field pieces

Right Wing of Horse: The Earl of Bedford

The Lord-General's regiment
Sir William Balfour's regiment
Lord Fielding's regiment
Col. John Browne's dragoons
Col. James Wardlowe's dragoons

Parliamentarian Foot

Sir John Meldrum's Brigade (vanguard)

Sir John Meldrum's regiment
Lord Saye-and-Sele's regiment
Lord Robarte's regiment
Sir William Constable's regiment
Sir William Fairfax's regiment

Charles Essex's Brigade (main battle)

Sir Charles Essex's regiment
Sir Henry Cholmley's regiment
Lord Mandeville's regiment
Lord Wharton's regiment

Thomas Ballard's Brigade (rearguard)

The Lord-General's regiment (two divisions)
Lord Brooke's regiment
Thomas Ballard's regiment
Denzil Holles's regiment

Cavalry supporting the Foot in the centre

Sir Philip Stapleton's troop of cuirassiers (Lord-General's lifeguard)
Captain Nathaniel Draper's troop of arquebusiers
Sir William Balfour's troop of cuirassiers
The Earl of Bedford's troop of cuirassiers

Left Wing of Horse: Sir James Ramsay

24 troops of horse and 400 commanded musketeers amongst the horse
300 commanded musketeers and dragoons in the hedges


Stuart Reid, All the King's Armies (Staplehurst 1998)

Keith Roberts & John Tincey, Edgehill 1642 (Osprey 2001)